University-wide General Education Committee AY 2017-2018

The University-wide General Education Committee (UWGEC) participates in the shared governance process of the University of Arizona.  The UWGEC Chair reports to and serves on the Undergraduate Council.  The UWGEC's mission, as authorized by the Faculty Senate, is to review and approve all courses that satisfy General Education Requirements, to periodically assess existing courses, to make recommendations on policy related to General Education, and to disseminate information about  General Education to the campus community.  Effective in Fall 2010, the Committee is also responsible for the review and approval of all Success Courses--those that meet the definition as stated in the General Catalog.

 

A.Y. 2017-2018 Membership

Name

Title

Represents

Phone

Email

Voting

Thomas Fleming, Chair

Senior Lecturer, Astronomy Science 621-5049 taf@as.arizona.edu Yes

Victor Braitberg

Assistant Professor, Honors

Honors College

621-6901

victorb@email.arizona.edu

Yes

Malcolm Compitello

Dept. Head, Spanish & Portuguese

Foundations: Second Language

621-7347

compitel@email.arizona.edu

Yes

Pia Cuneo

Professor of Art History

College of Fine Arts

626-4869 pfcuneo@email.arizona.edu Yes
Joan Curry

Associate Professor, Soil, Water, Environmental Science

Agriculture & Life Sciences 626-5081 jecurry@email.arizona.edu Yes

Deborah Dimmett

Assistant Professor of Practice, TLS

Education, Nursing & Pharmacy

626-5307

ddimmett@email.arizona.edu

Yes

Kyle DiRoberto

Assistant Professor, English

UA South Campus 626-2422 droberto@email.arizona.edu Yes

Amy Fountain

Lecturer, Linguistics

Social & Behavioral Sciences

621-6987

avf@email.arizona.edu

Yes

Kimberly Jones

Associate Dean

Humanities 621-9293 kjones@email.arizona.edu Yes
Ted Laetsch

Associate Professor, Mathematics

Foundations: Mathematics 621-6860 laetsch@math.arizona.edu Yes
Marie-Pierre
Le Hir

Professor, French & Italian

Humanities 621-3797 mlehir@email.arizona.edu Yes
Jessica Maerz

Assistant Professor, Theatre, Film and Television

College of Fine Arts 621-7352 jmaerz@email.arizona.edu Yes

Susan Miller-Cochran

Professor, English; Director, Writing Program

Foundations:  English Composition

621-1836

millercochran@email.arizona.edu

Yes

Jennifer Ricketts

Lecturer, Nutritional Sciences

Agriculture and Life Sciences 621-6999 jrickett@ag.arizona.edu Yes

Mark Stegeman

Associate Professor, Economics

Eller College of Management

626-0680

stegeman@eller.arizona.edu

Yes

Jennifer Stevens Aubrey

Associate Professor, Communication Social & Behavioral Sciences   jlsa@email.arizona.edu Yes

Marie Teemant

Graduate Student, Art History & Education

Graduate and Professional Student Council

  marieteemant@email.arizona.edu Yes
Dale Ward

Lecturer, Atmospheric Sciences

Science 626-7261

ward@atmo.arizona.edu

Yes
Lilly Weyers

Student, College of Science

Associated Students of the UA   lmweyers@email.arizona.edu Yes

Ex-Officio Members

Roxie Catts

Director, Advising Resource Center

Advisory Member: Advising Resource Center

626-7988

catts@email.arizona.edu

Ex-Officio

Elaine Marchello Assistant Director, Assessment

Advisory Member: Office of Instruction & Assessment

626-3631 evm@email.arizona.edu Ex-Officio

Leslie Sult

Associate 
Librarian

Advisory Member: University Library

626-3850

lsult@email.arizona.edu

Ex-Officio

Celeste Pardee

Assistant Director, Academic Policies & Organizations

Advisory Member: Curricular Affairs

621-5375

cpardee@email.arizona.edu

Ex-Officio